Sharing Your VidDay Video Gift

Little things add up to big things. Thanks to you, people were able to take a little time to celebrate someone they care for.


Mother sharing her daughter's video gift

Now for the exciting part!


You've received the confirmation email. Your video is ready! But before you start sharing the surprise, there are a few things you should know.


How to start watching the video

Watching The Video


Your finished video lives on your Event Page. All your video clips and photos are no longer visible, and in its place is the finished video. From here, you can watch, manage, and share the video with the recipient and others.


Make sure that you're logged in to your VidDay account to see the finished video. By default, the privacy of the video is set to Private. To make the video available for everyone to watch, you'll need to change the privacy settings.


How to change your privacy settings

Privacy Setting


The video is Private by default, so only you, as the creator, will see the video. You have full control over the privacy settings of your VidDay video. To change any privacy settings, check the privacy toggle located below the video. This toggle will control whether the video remains private or public.


How to share your video

Sharing The Video

To share the video with others, you’ll need to share the link. You can share the link privately with the only recipient. Or you can make it public and share it with everyone who contributed.


Sharing The Video Privately


You can keep the video private and only share it with the recipient. To do so, you'll share the Private Link with them.


The Private Link allows the recipient to view the video on the Event Page while keeping it Private. Only people who have this link can watch the video (such as friends or family to whom you send the link).

Click the Private Link button below the video to copy the link to your clipboard. Once it's copied to your clipboard, you can paste the link in email, text, or any way you want to share the link.


Sharing The Video Publicly


To share the finished video with contributors and others, set the privacy settings to Public. Now, everyone who has the Event Page link will be able to watch the video. They can use the same link that they used to submit their video clips and photos. Your video can only be directly accessed using the Event Page link. Your public video will not be uploaded anywhere or found through search engines.


You can use the share buttons to send the link via email, text message, Facebook, Twitter, WhatsApp, and more.


And if you share on Facebook, tag the contributors who helped you make the video gift. Tag us too! We love seeing everyone's videos.


How to tell everyone about the video

Notifying Contributors


We know that they're super excited to see the finished video too. With one click, you can notify all the contributor's emails that the video is live! Click on the Notify Contributors button, and VidDay will send them an email!


How to download your video

Downloading The Video


You can download the finished video to keep it as a keepsake.

Please note: you can only download it on desktops or laptops. Phone and tablets can’t download the file from an internet browser.


How to add or remove media from your video

Adding or Removing Media From the Video


You can reopen an already finalized video. First, you'll need to click on the Reopen Event Page button found at the bottom of your Event Page. By clicking on this button, your video will disappear, and your uploads will reappear. From here, you can add, remove, and arrange media again. When you're done making edits, click the Publish button to republish the video.



Need More Inspiration?


Check out VidDay's Ultimate Guide to Getting Started.